Vocab in context

24 02 2008

As we know, if we learn a piece of vocab and we don’t make use of it, we simply forget – and it simply stays as a PASSIVE Vocab.

In order to make passive vocab active, each week, after my CPE class, I’ll be posting a small text, using a certain topic discussed in class as well as using the CPE vocab that is required.

This week’s topic is: Friendship.

friends.jpg

What are friends really for? How much can you count on a friend when being in a hardship? Does it come naturally to spot a fair-weather friend?

Many questions come to my mind when I think of friendship. One which tops all the answers is that friends are the family you’ve chosen, opposed to your real family, which you haven’t had much a choice in that matter. Thus, I can have the best people on earth next to me. We row, we fall out, we patch things up and we live and learn, all these processes are part and parcel of our upbringing and friends make this process a bit more enjoyable.

I simply adore gathering with my friends. We normally gather in a friend’s house, and there we can have drinks and chew the fat all night long. I fancy going to the cinema with them as well – all the discussions after it are unforgettable! Friends do make our lives a tad more interesting and a lot more enjoyable!

 I’m not paying lip service – friends are rather important to me. Without them, I’d lead gloomy, sombre life.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment